About Vance

Vance County was established in 1881, and named in honor of Governor Zebulon B. Vance, the famous Civil War Governor of North Carolina. In 1841, the town of Henderson became Vance’s county seat, and was named in memory of Leonard Henderson, who served as Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court in the 1830’s.

 Vance County is located in Central North Carolina, along the Virginia border and includes the townships of Dabney, Henderson, Kittrell, Middleburg, Sandy Creek, Townsville, Watkins, and Williamsboro. Attractions include Kerr Lake, and 850 mile shoreline that stretches across Vance County.

Census 2010

  • Land Area:                 253.52 square miles
  • Population:                45,422
  • Households:              16,589
  • Median Income:        $33,316
  • Municipality:             Henderson
  • Towns:                        Kittrell and Middleburg
  • Region:                       Piedmont
  • River Basin:               Roanoke, Tar-Pamlico
  • Adjacent Counties:   Franklin, Granville, and Warren
  • Major Highways:      I-85, US 1, US 158, and NC 39



Latest News

Contact Us

Events Calendar