

2016 GENERAL

Election Date: 11/08/2016

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **VANCE** County on **11/08/2016**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice.**

Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than **5:00 p.m.** on the day before Election Day. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at www.NCSBE.gov. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at www.FVAP.gov A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (www.absentee@sboe.state.nc.us).

Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests only. Please contact your local <u>board of elections</u> to confirm your party affiliation or voter registration status.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on military-overseas absentee voting.

NC State Board of Elections September 2016

Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda VANCE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/08/2016)

VANCE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/08/2016)

	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
US PRESIC	DENT		
	DONALD TRUMP	Donald J. Trump	REP
	HILLARY CLINTON	Hillary Clinton	DEM
	GARY JOHNSON	Gary Johnson	LIB
US SENAT	E		
	RICHARD BURR	Richard Burr	REP
	DEBORAH ROSS	Deborah K. Ross	DEM
	SEAN HAUGH	Sean Haugh	LIB
US HOUSE 1	OF REPRESENTATIVES DIST	RICT	
	HAROLD DEW	H. Powell Dew, Jr.	REP
	GEORGE BUTTERFIELD	G. K. Butterfield	DEM
	JOSEPH SUMMERELL	J.J. Summerell	LIB
NC GOVER	RNOR		
	PATRICK MCCRORY	Pat McCrory	REP
	ROY COOPER	Roy Cooper	DEM
	LON CECIL	Lon Cecil	LIB
NC LIEUTE	ENANT GOVERNOR		
	DANIEL FOREST	Dan Forest	REP
	LINDA COLEMAN	Linda Coleman	DEM
	JACQUELYN COLE	Jacki Cole	LIB
NC ATTOR	RNEY GENERAL		
	ELDON NEWTON	Buck Newton	REP
	JOSHUA STEIN	Josh Stein	DEM
NC AUDITO	OR		
	CHARLES STUBER	Chuck Stuber	REP
	BETH WOOD	Beth A. Wood	DEM
NC COMM	ISSIONER OF AGRICULTURE		
	STEVEN TROXLER	Steve Troxler	REP
	WALTER SMITH	Walter Smith	DEM
NC COMM	ISSIONER OF INSURANCE		
	JOHN CAUSEY	Mike Causey	REP
	GEORGE GOODWIN	Wayne Goodwin	DEM
NC COMM	ISSIONER OF LABOR		
	CHERIE BERRY	Cherie Berry	REP
	CHARLES MEEKER	Charles Meeker	DEM
NC SECRE	TARY OF STATE		
	MICHAEL LAPAGLIA	Michael LaPaglia	REP
	WINCHALL LAN AGEN	3 3 3	
	ELAINE MARSHALL	Elaine Marshall	DEM
	ELAINE MARSHALL		DEM
NC SUPER INSTRUCT	ELAINE MARSHALL		DEM REP

VANCE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/08/2016)

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
NC TREASURER		
DALE FOLWELL	Dale R. Folwell	REP
DANIEL BLUE	Dan Blue III	DEM
NC STATE SENATE DISTRICT 04		
JAMES SCOTT	Richard Scott	REP
ANGELA BRYANT	Angela R. Bryant	DEM
NC HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES DIST 032	RICT	
TERRY GARRISON	Terry Garrison	DEM
VANCE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DISTRICT 1		
JOHN WATKINS	John F. Watkins, Jr.	REP
CAROLYN FAINES	Carolyn Faines	DEM
VANCE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DISTRICT 2		
ARCHIE TAYLOR	Archie B. Taylor, Jr.	DEM
VANCE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DISTRICT 5		
LEO KELLY	Leo Kelly, Jr.	DEM
VANCE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DISTRICT 6		
YOLANDA FEIMSTER	Yolanda J. Feimster	DEM
VANCE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 3	I	
DOROTHY GOOCHE	Dorothy Williams Gooche	DEM
VANCE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION	l	
DISTRICT 4	5.1. 1.D. M.	DEM
EDWARD WILSON	Edward B. Wilson	DEM
VANCE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION DISTRICT 5		
CLEMENTINE HUNTER	Clementine (Tina) Hunter	DEM
NC SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUST	CE	
MICHAEL MORGAN	Michael R. (Mike) Morgan	
ROBERT EDMUNDS	Robert H. (Bob) Edmunds	
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE (STEPH	·	
PHILIP BERGER	Phil Berger, Jr.	REP
LINDA STEPHENS	Linda Stephens	DEM
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE (GEER)		
JEFFREY MURPHY	Hunter Murphy	REP
MARGARET EAGLES	Margaret Eagles	DEM
DONALD BUIE	Donald Ray Buie	UNA
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE (HUNTE	R)	
ROBERT HUNTER	Bob Hunter	REP
ABRAHAM JONES	Abe Jones	DEM
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE (DIETZ)		
RICHARD DIETZ	Richard Dietz	REP
VINSTON ROZIER	Vince Rozier	DEM
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE (ZACHA	RY)	
VALERIE ZACHARY	Valerie Zachary	REP
RICKYE MCKOY-MITCHELL	Rickye McKoy-Mitchell	DEM

VANCE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/08/2016)

SAMUEL GREEN

С	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
NC DISTRICT C (DAVIS)	OURT JUDGE DISTRICT 09		
J	OHN DAVIS	John W. Davis	
NC DISTRICT C (FINCH)	OURT JUDGE DISTRICT 09		
S	SHY BRIDGES	S. Quon Bridges	
С	CAROLINE BURNETTE	Caroline S. Burnette	
NC DISTRICT C (STEVENSON)	OURT JUDGE DISTRICT 09		
A	MANDA STEVENSON	Amanda Stevenson	
NC DISTRICT C (YANCEY)	OURT JUDGE DISTRICT 09		
С	CAROLYN YANCEY	Carolyn J. Yancey	
NC DISTRICT C (BASKERVILLE	OURT JUDGE DISTRICT 09B		
,	DAM KEITH	Adam Keith	

Samuel Green, Jr.

CHOICE	DESCRIPTION			
VANCE COUNTY MIXED BEVERAGE ELECTION				
For	To permit the sale of mixed beverages in hotels, restaurants, private clubs, community theatres, and convention centers.			
Against	To permit the sale of mixed beverages in hotels, restaurants, private clubs, community theatres, and convention centers.			