## STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

## COUNTY OF VANCE

The Vance County Board of Commissioners met in special session on Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. in the Commissioners' Conference Room, Vance County Administration Building, 122 Young Street, Henderson, NC. Those Commissioners present were as follows: Chairman Dan Brummitt, Vice-Chairman Thomas S. Hester, Jr., Yolanda J. Feimster, Leo Kelly, Jr., Archie B. Taylor, Jr., and Gordon Wilder.

Absent: Commissioner Carolyn Faines.

Also present were County Manager Jordan McMillen, Finance Director David C. Beck, and Clerk to the Board Kelly H. Grissom.

The purpose of the special meeting was to convene the Vance County Water District Board and approve the Vance County Water District Multi-Year Financial Plan.

Chairman Dan Brummitt called the Water District Board to order.

County Manager Jordan McMillen explained that the multi-year funding plan was requested by the Local Government Commission to address the financial sustainability of the water system over several years. He stated that the main focus of the plan is adding customers. Realizing the water system is relatively new, and it takes time to develop a customer base, the plan recognizes the progress that has been made from 620 customers to 1,229 customers since FY 2015. The main basis going forward is calling for incentives over the five to seven year period in order to bring the system to self-sustaining. He noted that the plan has been reviewed by the Water Committee and the board and requested approval of the plan.

Motion was made by Commissioner Thomas S. Hester, Jr., seconded by Commissioner Gordon Wilder, vote unanimous, to approve the Vance County Water District Multi-Year Financial Plan as presented.

At this time, Chairman Dan Brummitt closed the Water District Board.

As there was no further business, motion was made by Commissioner Gordon Wilder, seconded by Commissioner Archie B. Taylor, Jr., vote unanimous, that the meeting be adjourned.

Approved and signed June 5, 2017.

Chairman