STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF VANCE

The Vance County Board of Commissioners met in special session on Thursday, February 15, 2024 at 4:00 p.m. in the commissioners' conference room, Vance County Administration Building, 122 Young Street, Henderson, NC. Those commissioners present were as follows: Chair R. Dan Brummitt, Vice-Chair Leo Kelly, Jr., Commissioners Sean A. Alston, Sr., Carolyn Faines and Archie B. Taylor, Jr.

Absent: Commissioners Yolanda J. Feimster and Thomas S. Hester, Jr.

Also present were County Manager C. Renee Perry, County Attorney Jonathan S. Care, and Clerk to the Board Kelly H. Grissom.

The purpose of the special meeting was to appoint a finance officer and enter into closed session to discuss an economic development matter.

Motion was made by Commissioner Carolyn Faines to approve the minutes of the December 4, 2023, December 20, 2023 and January 8, 2024 closed sessions. This motion was seconded by Commissioner Leo Kelly, Jr. and unanimously approved.

Appointment of Interim Finance Officer. County Manager C. Renee Perry stated that North Carolina General Statutes require counties to have an individual designated as a finance officer. Following the departure of the former finance director, Charles Murray, Jr. has agreed to come on board to assist through the budget and the hiring process for a permanent director. It is recommended that Mr. Murray be designated as the interim finance officer.

Motion was made by Commissioner Carolyn Faines to appoint Charles Murray, Jr. as the interim finance officer effective February 19, 2024. This motion was seconded by Commissioner Archie B. Taylor, Jr. and unanimously approved.

At this time, motion was made by Commissioner Leo Kelly, Jr., seconded by Commissioner Carolyn Faines, vote unanimous, to enter into closed session to discuss an economic development matter.

Upon return to open session, and as there was no further business, at 4:40 p.m., motion was made by Commissioner Sean A. Alston, Sr., seconded by Commissioner Carolyn Faines, vote unanimous, that the meeting be adjourned.

Approved and signed March 4, 2024.

R. Dan Brummitt, Chair